
Updated 22 October 2026 · 22 min read
A first training session at Barça Academy Singapore costs nothing. So does a first class at The Swim Starter, City Ballet Academy or Tree Art. A first class at The Little Gym costs $78, about what a regular class there costs, and you get it back only if you enrol the same day. GymKraft charges $59.95 for its trial and keeps it whatever you decide. All of them are called a trial class.
How we checked. On 20 October 2026 we read the trial terms of 76 schools listed on Jungle, across ten activities for children aged 3 to 12, on each school's own website or booking system. We read class fees on 20 and 21 October, and the big brands and CMA on 22 October. Twenty-eight of the 76 offer a free first class. The rest charge $10 to $80, sell a starter pack, or offer an assessment instead.
This guide is for children aged 3 to 12. For under-4s, read free and paid trial classes for babies and toddlers, and for the big brain-training brands, do Heguru, Shichida and Kumon offer trial classes.
Trial prices as published on 20 October 2026, at the schools on Jungle we checked in each activity. "Typical paid trial" is the range of single trial classes that carry a price.
| Activity | Free trials | Typical paid trial |
|---|---|---|
| Swimming | 3 of 11 | $43.60 to $65 |
| Ballet and dance | 2 of 9 | $10 to $50 |
| Gymnastics | 1 of 9 | $45 to $78 |
| Music | 4 of 7 | $39.50 to $72 |
| Martial arts | 4 of 9 | $20 to $50 |
| Football | 5 of 6 | $10 |
| Art | 2 of 7 | $30 to $45 a lesson |
| Coding | 2 of 6 | $54.50 to $70.85 |
| Chinese | 4 of 5 | not published |
| English and phonics | 1 of 7 | from $80 |
Three things stand out. Team sports give the first session away: five of six football academies charge nothing. Pools and gyms rarely do, because a coach and a small group cost the same whoever turns up. And a paid trial often costs more than a regular class: $50 at Happy Fish against $39.79 a lesson in a pack, $59.95 at GymKraft against $52.32 a class in a term.
Some are: 28 of the 76 schools we checked on Jungle offer a free first class, most of them in football, music, martial arts and Chinese, while only one of nine gymnastics schools and three of 11 swim schools do.
Five more offer something free that is not a class: an assessment at Swimfast, Computhink, I Can Read, My English School and LCentral. The next section explains why that matters.
Some free trials come with strings. Le Xue's is free once you follow it on Facebook and Instagram, and ends with a 15 to 20-minute consultation. Gracie Barra's is free only for Singapore residents with proof of residence. Nullspace's free robotics trials run only at its open house, at Kallang Wave Mall on 31 October and Rochester Mall on 1 November.
This is the distinction that catches most parents, and several centres blur it. An assessment is a meeting about your child. A trial is a class with other children in it. Only the second shows you how a lesson runs, who else is in it and whether your child enjoys it.
The schools that say plainly which one they offer deserve credit. State Swim's free assessment is a 10-minute appointment for children who have swum elsewhere. Computhink's is a 10 to 20-minute level test and a meeting with a Code Mentor. I Can Read calls its free literacy assessment an assessment. Swim Masters is just as plain about its paid one: its $10 trial "is an assessment, not a sample class".
CMA Mental Arithmetic, which is not on Jungle, settles the argument on its own booking form. It offers a Free Preview of 15 minutes at $0.00 directly beside a Trial Class of 90 minutes at $42.00, across 17 centres, and says trial payments are strictly non-refundable. Two different things, named differently, priced differently, on one screen. Every centre could do this and almost none does.
The trial is the smallest number on the bill. Here is what a family pays from the trial to the end of a first term or month at six schools that publish every part of it. Prices as each school prints them: GymKraft's include GST, JSSL's exclude it, and the others do not say.
| School and term | Trial | Trial to first term |
|---|---|---|
| GymKraft, 9 weeks | $59.95, kept | $618.03 |
| The Little Gym, 10 weeks | $78, deducted same day | $896 to $974 |
| Kickmatics, 12 lessons | $20, waived same day | $663.80 to $683.80 |
| JSSL, 12 sessions | Free | $630, plus $90 deposit |
| Little Splashes, 12 lessons | $45, 20% off the term | $497.14 |
| Trifecta, 1 month | $50, refunded | $450 |
How each row is built. GymKraft: trial $59.95, registration $87.20 and a 9-week term of one hour a week, $470.88, all with GST. The Little Gym: $798 for 10 weekly classes plus a $98 annual membership; the $78 introductory class comes off the tuition only if you enrol that day. Kickmatics: $50 registration, $135 uniform and 12 lessons at $478.80, from a fee sheet whose file is dated 2024, the latest it publishes.
JSSL: $120 registration with kit and the $510 early-bird fee for 12 sessions, before GST, plus a $90 refundable deposit. Little Splashes: $54.50 registration and a $497.05 weekday term less the 20% it offers after a trial. Trifecta: $150 registration and a month's unlimited training at $300, with the $50 trial refunded against them.
What happens to a paid trial fee when you enrol, as each school states it.
| What happens to the fee | Schools |
|---|---|
| Refunded or credited when you join | Trifecta ($50, first trial only), Fight Academy ($30), Coding Lab ($70.85, if you enrol within three months), Swish (the trial becomes your first lesson) |
| Waived only if you sign up on the day | The Little Gym ($78), Kickmatics ($20), Joy Music Studio ($39.50), Art Wonderland ($30, with a 10 or 20-lesson package) |
| Waived within a week | Alpha Gymnastics ($45), Little Splashes ($45, towards a 4-class bundle) |
| Charged on top of the first term | GymKraft ($59.95), Karpenko ($50) |
| Non-refundable; credit not stated | Amy's, Dance At The Difference, MADDspace, aquaDucks |
| Not stated | Happy Fish, F17, School Of Robotics, Bianka Panova, BazGym, Play By Ear |
Bloom does it differently: its $49 trial is not refunded, but sign up the same day and it waives the $49 registration fee instead, which it describes as a free trial.
Where schools publish a length, it varies four to one. At 30 minutes: Happy Fish, La Dolce, Joy Music Studio, Evolve MMA and Kickmatics, whose trial is one to one. aquaDucks' 30 minutes is 20 in the pool and 10 of feedback. At 45 minutes: The Swim Starter, Red Dot Penguins, Aure Studios and Dance At The Difference's Tiny Tots.
At an hour: Tree Art, The Little Gym, GymKraft, Karpenko, Bianka Panova, Champ Code and Nullspace. Yamaha's runs 45 minutes plus 15 of sharing with parents. At 90 minutes or more: Art Wonderland, Artify, United Language Centre, BriliBrain at 1 hour 45, and Coding Lab's two-hour workshop. Rocktone's homepage says 45 minutes and its FAQ says 30.
A 30-minute trial is long enough to meet a teacher. A 90-minute one is a real lesson, and a child still engaged at the end of it has told you something. Many schools publish no length at all, so ask when you book.
Each card gives the trial as the school states it, what it costs, how long it lasts and what happens to the fee, then the regular class fee where the school publishes one.
SwimmingBallet and danceGymnasticsMusicMartial artsFootballArtCodingChineseEnglish and phonics
Three of the 11 swim schools we checked give the first lesson free, one of them only to under-4s. Apart from Swim Masters' $10 offer, paid trials cost $43.60 to $65, more than a lesson in a pack at most of them. Learn Swimming Singapore has no trial at all, and State Swim has none from age 4. For full lesson prices, read what swimming lessons cost in Singapore; for under-4s, swimming lessons for babies and toddlers.
6 pools on Jungle
Ages 2 to 1230-minute trial$50 trial
One price for the trial at every pool, weekday or weekend: $50 for a 30-minute introductory class, which Happy Fish uses to assess your child's level. That is more than a lesson in its packs, from $39.79. Bukit Timah's booking system lists toddler trials only, none for over-5s. Pools at Bedok, Lentor, Tengah and Toa Payoh are not yet on Jungle.
Trial: $50 for one 30-minute class, GST included. Refund or credit not stated.
Price: $198.93 for a 5-lesson Foundation Pack on weekdays ($39.79 a lesson), $272.50 at weekends ($54.50), GST included. HOME pools cost more.
Branches: East: HOME @ Bedok, Downtown East. North-east: Buangkok. Central: Bukit Timah, HOME @ Stevens. West: Jurong East.
6 pools on Jungle
Kids 3 to 1230 minutes1 coach to 5$45 trial
The trial is for new students only, $45 on weekdays or weekends. It is the clearest example of a trial that pays for itself if you stay: sign up for a term afterwards and get 20% off it, or have the $45 credited to a 4-class bundle within a week. From 3, children swim without a parent, five to a coach, for 30 minutes.
Trial: $45, new students only. 20% off a term, or the $45 credited to a 4-class bundle within a week.
Price: $497.05 for a 12-lesson weekday term ($41.40 a lesson), $758.60 at weekends ($63.20), plus $54.50 registration for new term students.
Branches: Central: Balestier, Shaw Plaza, Dunearn Village. North-east: Jalan Selaseh. East: Siglap, SingPost Centre.
Bishan · Bishan MRT (NS17/CC15), 360 m
Ages 4 to 1445 minutes5 to 10 a classFree trial
A free trial in a real 45-minute group class at a public pool, booked online by pool, date and slot. The coach assesses your child during it and picks the level. After that the packages are simple, and the difference between them is make-ups: $60 more a term buys them. Lessons also run at Sengkang, Clementi and Pasir Ris.
Trial: Free, 45 minutes, booked online.
Price: $240 for an 8-week term of one 45-minute class a week, no make-ups ($30 a class); $300 with make-ups ($37.50).
Address: Bishan Swimming Complex, 1 Bishan Street 14, Singapore 579778. Google Maps
Book on Jungle: The Swim Starter
Also on Jungle:
Two of nine dance schools give the first class free. Paid trials run from $10 to $50, and most are paid in advance and kept if you cancel. For what a term costs, see our guides to ballet for 2, 3 and 4 year olds and ballet for 5 and 6 year olds.
Dhoby Ghaut and Prinsep Street · 2 studios on Jungle
From 345 to 90 minutesFree trial
Every class page carries a free trial form, for new students only, asking for your child's birth year. Classes are grouped that way: Ballet Creative Movement 1 is for children born in 2023 and runs 45 minutes, in groups of up to 18. Pre-Primary, for children born in 2021, says one hour but is timetabled in 90-minute slots.
Trial: Free, new students only, booked on each class page.
Price: $330 for a 10-lesson Creative Movement term ($33 a class); $585 for 10 Pre-Primary lessons ($58.50).
Branches: City: Dhoby Ghaut, Prinsep Street.
4 studios on Jungle
Ballet from 3Hip hop and K-pop from 4$10 trial
At $10 this is the cheapest paid dance trial here, and signing up adds $50 off the first term and a waived registration fee, "save up to $130", until 15 November 2026. The catch is in the terms: to qualify you must commit to at least two full terms, and leaving early means paying the full regular fee. Nothing is refunded once paid.
Trial: $10 until 15 November 2026, first-time customers. Requires a two-term commitment to qualify for the promotion.
Price: Crestar School of Dance does not publish its fees online. Contact them for current prices.
Branches: North: Woodlands. North-east: Hougang. East: Marine Parade. West: Jurong East.
Novena · Novena MRT (NS20), 230 m
Ages 3 to 945 to 60 minutes$40 to $48 trial
Each class has its own trial price, paid by PayPal before you go: $40 for 45 minutes of Tiny Tots (3 to 5), $48 for an hour of Little Dancers (5 to 9). The trial is the next class within seven days. Once your place is reserved there is no refund if you cancel. One guardian may watch the whole class.
Trial: $40 to $48 by class, paid in advance, no refund on cancellation.
Price: Dance At The Difference does not publish its fees online. Contact them for current prices.
Address: 203A Thomson Road, Goldhill Centre, Singapore 307638. Google Maps
Book on Jungle: Dance At The Difference
Also on Jungle:
Gymnastics has the dearest trials and the fewest free ones: one free, the rest $45 to $78. Several cost about as much as a regular class or more, and two schools charge it on top of the first term whatever you decide. See also gymnastics for 2, 3 and 4 year olds.
Forum and Marina Square · 2 gyms on Jungle
Ages 3 to 1260 minutes$78 trial
The introductory class is $78 a child, one visit per child, and comes off the tuition only if you enrol the same day. A term of 10 weekly 60-minute classes is $798, so the trial costs about the same as a class, plus a $98 annual membership once you join. Fees are from the Forum schedule; GST is not mentioned.
Trial: $78, deducted from tuition on same-day enrolment only. One introductory visit per child.
Price: $798 for a 10-week term once a week ($79.80 a class), $1,448 twice a week, plus $98 annual membership.
Branches: City: Forum, Marina Square.
Kallang Wave Mall and Tampines · 2 gyms on Jungle
KinGym 3 to 7BeGym 7 to 1360 minutes$59.95 trial
A one-hour trial is $55 before GST, and the school's FAQ is blunt: the fee is non-waivable, non-refundable and charged on top of the term and registration. Book at least 24 hours ahead on its portal, after creating a parent account; walk-ins are not accepted. A third gym, at Forum Orchard, is not yet on Jungle.
Trial: $55 for one hour ($59.95 with GST). Never waived or refunded.
Price: $432 for a 9-week term of one hour a week ($48 a class) before GST, $470.88 with it; $80 registration before GST.
Branches: East: Kallang Wave Mall, Yo:HA Tampines.
Chai Chee · Bedok MRT (EW5), 880 m
Recreational1-hour classes$45 trial
The trial is $45, non-refundable, and arranged with the office rather than booked online. Sign up for a class within a week and it is waived; after that it is not. Recreational classes run an hour with up to eight children a coach, six in the youngest group. Every fee here, the trial included, is non-transferable.
Trial: $45, waived only if you sign up within a week.
Price: Alpha Gymnastics does not publish its fees online. Contact them for current prices.
Address: 750 Chai Chee Road, #01-13B ESR BizPark @ Chai Chee, Singapore 469000. Google Maps
Book on Jungle: Alpha Gymnastics
Also on Jungle:
Four of seven music schools give a free trial. The free ones are often 30 minutes and one to one, which shows you the teacher more than the course. For lesson prices, read what piano lessons cost and Yamaha vs Cristofori vs Aureus; for under-4s, music classes for babies and toddlers.
10 schools on Jungle
From 245 minutes plus 15Free trial
Every children's course has a free trial, booked as a dated sit-in on Yamaha's event system. For the Primary Course (4 to 5.5), a ticket admits one parent and one child for 45 minutes of trial and 15 of sharing. Sessions run at set times and fill up: Westgate's on 23 October was sold out when we looked.
Trial: Free, at a set date and branch.
Price: $534 a 3-month term of 11 Primary Course lessons ($48.55 a lesson), $36 less on weekdays, GST included.
Branches: City: Plaza Singapura. East: Kallang Leisure Park, Tampines Mall. West: Clementi, Frontier CC, Westgate. North-east: Hougang, SAFRA Punggol. North: Sembawang. Central: Thomson Plaza.
Holland Village · Holland Village MRT (CC21), 250 m
One to one30 minutesFree trial
A free 30-minute one-to-one lesson in piano, guitar or drums, booked online, at its studio in Holland Road Shopping Centre. It is a lesson, not a talk: the point is to meet the teacher who would teach your child every week. Fees depend on the course and lesson length, and La Dolce gives them on request.
Trial: Free, 30 minutes, one to one.
Price: La Dolce Music Centre does not publish its fees online. Contact them for current prices.
Address: 211 Holland Avenue, #02-37 Holland Road Shopping Centre, Singapore 278967. Google Maps
Book on Jungle: La Dolce Music Centre
Marine Parade · Marine Parade MRT (TE26), 140 m
From 4.530-minute trial$39.50 or free
Two different trials. For individual lessons, a 30-minute trial is $39.50, waived if you sign up straight after it. For the Music Explorers group class (4.5 to 6), trials are free but run only in a window before each intake: the last was 14 to 27 September. A trial in the first week of term counts as the first paid class.
Trial: $39.50 for 30 minutes, waived on immediate sign-up; group trials free in the window before each intake.
Price: Music Explorers $430 a term of nine 45-minute lessons, or $860 for the two-term programme.
Address: 1 Marine Parade Central, #02-02 Parkway Centre, Singapore 449408. Google Maps
Book on Jungle: Joy Music Studio
Also on Jungle:

Trifecta refunds its $50 trial when you join. Kickmatics waives its $20 trial only if you register straight after. Photo: cottonbro studio / Pexels
Four of nine schools give the first class free, and the paid ones cost $20 to $50. Two have no trial at all. For grading and uniform costs, read our guide to taekwondo and martial arts for 4 to 6 year olds.
Kembangan · Kembangan MRT (EW6), 480 m
Taekwondo, BJJ and Krav Maga$50 trialRefunded on joining
The clearest refund we found: a trial class costs $50, and on registration it is refunded and used against the membership and sign-up fees. Only the first trial counts. Membership covers taekwondo, BJJ and Krav Maga, and excludes uniform, sparring gear and grading fees.
Trial: $50, refunded against sign-up fees on registration, first trial only.
Price: $300 a month for unlimited classes, or $80 a single lesson; $150 registration.
Address: 111 Jalan Kembangan, Singapore 419149. Google Maps
Book on Jungle: Trifecta Martial Arts
3 studios on Jungle
Tots 4 to 530-minute private trial$20
Every trial is a 30-minute private session with a full-time coach, for $20, waived if you register straight after. The school's own fee sheet prices a 30-minute private lesson at $80, so this is its cheapest one-to-one time. Under-4s are taken case by case. Lessons are sold in blocks of at least 12.
Trial: $20, 30 minutes, one to one. Waived on immediate registration.
Price: $42 a lesson once a week, minimum 12 ($478.80 for 12 with 5% off); $50 registration and $135 uniform. From a fee sheet whose file is dated 2024, the latest it publishes.
Branches: North: Canberra Plaza. North-east: Serangoon Garden, Northshore Plaza.
Tai Seng · Tai Seng MRT (CC11), 190 m
Ages 6 to 17No trial$10 open seminar
Krav U18 has no trial class. Children join a waitlist and are invited to a $10 open seminar before each term's intake, in April, August and December, to meet the coaches and watch a class. A parent must come to the first visit. Miss the seminar and the next chance is four months away.
Trial: None. $10 open seminar before each intake.
Price: $470 a term for Kids, $520 for Juniors and $535 for Teens, about 16 weekly classes a term.
Address: 11 Irving Place, #02-04 Tai Seng Point, Singapore 369551. Google Maps
Book on Jungle: Kravist Singapore
Also on Jungle:
Football is the easy one: five of six academies give the first session free, and the sixth charges $10. Most put your child into a normal session with their age group, so you see the real thing. See also football for 3, 4 and 5 year olds.
Aljunied · Aljunied MRT (EW9), 670 m
Ages 4 to 17Free tryout
The academy calls it a free tryout: one training session with its coaches, for boys and girls aged 4 to 17, booked through a form. It is the official FC Barcelona academy in Singapore. It does not publish its fees, so ask for the term price and kit cost at the session.
Trial: Free training session.
Price: Barça Academy Singapore does not publish its fees online. Contact them for current prices.
Address: Nexus International School, 1 Aljunied Walk, Singapore 387293. Google Maps
Book on Jungle: Barça Academy Singapore
Balestier · Farrer Park MRT (NE8), 510 m
Age-group sessionsFree trial
The free trial puts your child into a normal session with their own age group while you watch from the side. JSSL publishes its 2026 fees in full, so you can price the first term before you go: $120 to register, including kit, a $90 refundable deposit and $510 for 12 sessions at the early-bird rate.
Trial: Free, with the child's age group.
Price: $588 for a 12-session term ($49 a session), $510 early bird; $120 registration with kit; $90 refundable deposit. Fees exclude GST where applicable.
Address: JSSL HQ @ Premier Pitch SCRC, 49 Balestier Road, Singapore 329676. Google Maps
Book on Jungle: JSSL Singapore FC
Kembangan · Eunos MRT (EW7), 500 m
Full session$10 trial
The only football trial here that costs anything, and it is $10, paid before the session after an email confirms the slot. Wait for that confirmation before you go: attendance depends on the programme and space. After the trial there is no monthly option, only three or six-month packages.
Trial: $10, paid in advance. Refund or credit not stated.
Price: $624 for three months of one session a week, $1,190 for six months; $100 new-player starter package (insurance and kit).
Address: CharisTurf, Kembangan-Chai Chee Community Hub, 11 Jalan Ubi, Block 1, #01-01, Singapore 409074. Google Maps
Book on Jungle: F17 Football Academy
Also on Jungle:

Tree Art's free trial is an hour with all materials. Art Wonderland and Artify charge $30 for 90 minutes. Photo: cottonbro studio / Pexels
Two of seven art studios give the first class free. Paid trials cost $30 to $45 a lesson, at or below the regular lesson price where both are published, and two studios sell the trial as two lessons because a project takes two weeks. See also art classes for 2, 3 and 4 year olds.
12 campuses on Jungle
Ages 3 to 1860 minutesFree trial
A free 60-minute trial with all materials, open to every child from 3 to 18. Parents do not stay: children attend on their own at trial and regular classes alike, with one teacher to six at most. Tree Art does not publish its term fees, so ask about registration and the term before you book.
Trial: Free, 60 minutes, materials included.
Price: Tree Art does not publish its fees online. Contact them for current prices.
Branches: City: Paragon, City Square Mall. Central: United Square. East: i12 Katong, KINEX, Our Tampines Hub. North-east: Stars of Kovan, New Tech Park, Sengkang Grand Mall, Northshore Plaza. West: Westgate, Bukit Panjang Plaza.
Bugis · Bugis MRT (DT14/EW12), 320 m
Ages 4 to 1290 minutes$30 trial
A 90-minute trial in a normal class for $30, confirmed once you pay by PayNow. Sign up for a 10 or 20-lesson package on the spot and the trial fee is waived; first-timers also get 10% off that package. Leave it for later and the $30 is gone.
Trial: $30 for 90 minutes, waived with a 10 or 20-lesson package on the spot.
Price: $450 for 10 lessons ($45 a lesson) or $800 for 20 ($40); $35 one-time registration.
Address: 37 Middle Road, #03-00 Uweei Building, Singapore 188946. Google Maps
Book on Jungle: Art Wonderland
Lavender · Lavender MRT (EW11), 400 m
Ages 4 to 1290 minutes1 teacher to 4$30 trial
The trial is 90 minutes of acrylic painting on an A3 canvas, $30 against a usual $45, for children who have never had a trial or class here. Parents are not allowed in the studio during it. After that there are no registration fees and materials are included, which makes the regular price easy to compare.
Trial: $30 (usually $45), first-timers only.
Price: $180 for 4 sessions ($45 a session) or $486 for 12 ($40.50); no registration fee, materials included.
Address: 200 Jalan Sultan, #12-07 Textile Centre, Singapore 199018. Google Maps
Book on Jungle: Artify Studio
Also on Jungle:
Two of six coding schools give a free trial; the paid ones cost $54.50 to $70.85, and one offers only a test.
Live online classes
Ages 7 to 1560 minutesOnlineFree trial
A free one-hour trial, live online, with "no credit card needed". Classes run in Minecraft, Roblox, Scratch, Python and web design, in groups of up to six, so a trial at home shows you whether your child will sit through a screen lesson. It is the only free coding trial here that needs no travel.
Trial: Free, one hour, online.
Price: Champ Code Academy does not publish its fees online. Contact them for current prices.
Venues: Live online classes. The school lists no centre.
Book on Jungle: Champ Code Academy
4 centres on Jungle
Ages 7 to 92 hours$70.85 workshop
Coding Lab has no trial class. Its two-hour Thematic Workshops are, in its words, "just like trials": $65 before GST for 7 to 9 year olds. Register for a full course within three months and the workshop fee is refunded, which makes it the most generous paid trial in coding. A workshop hour costs less than a course hour.
Trial: $65 ($70.85 with GST) for a 2-hour workshop, refunded if you register for a course within three months.
Price: $435 for Scratch 1, five 2-hour lessons ($87 a lesson), before GST; $474.15 with GST.
Branches: Central: King Albert Park, United Square. East: Parkway Parade. North-east: The Seletar Mall.
3 centres on Jungle
Ages 5 to 61 hour$55 trial
The STEM Little Explorer page shows three answers: $55 for a one-hour trial, $5 for new customers under a promotion, and "we do not offer free trial classes for this programme". The free option is real but dated: LEGO robotics trials at the year-end open house, Kallang Wave Mall on 31 October and Rochester Mall on 1 November, 9.30am to 1pm.
Trial: $55 for one hour; $5 for new customers on promotion; free at the 31 October and 1 November open house.
Price: $520 a term of 10 weekly one-hour sessions ($52 a session).
Branches: East: Kallang Wave Mall, SAFRA Tampines. West: Rochester Mall.
Also on Jungle:
Four of five Chinese schools give the first class free. The free class is usually a seat in a running class, and neither school carded here publishes its fees, so ask for the term price before you go. See also Chinese enrichment for 3 to 6 year olds.
Balestier · Toa Payoh MRT (NS19), 650 m
N1 to K21 hour 451 teacher to 6Free trial
One of the longest free trials we found: a seat in its 1 hour 45-minute preschool class, with one teacher to six children. The class runs on Saturday morning and Sunday afternoon, so the trial takes one of those two slots. Fees are given on enquiry.
Trial: Free.
Price: BriliBrain Edu does not publish its fees online. Contact them for current prices.
Address: 520 Balestier Road, VIIO@Balestier, Singapore 329853. Google Maps
Book on Jungle: BriliBrain Edu
4 centres on Jungle
Preschool to secondary2-hour classesFree trial
The trial is free "by following our Facebook and Instagram", and your child joins a regular two-hour class of up to 10. Afterwards there is a 15 to 20-minute consultation with the parents, which is where the fees come in: Le Xue's course fee page lists courses but no prices.
Trial: Free after following its social media pages; 15 to 20-minute consultation afterwards.
Price: Le Xue Education does not publish its fees online. Contact them for current prices.
Branches: Central: Bishan, Queen's Road. North-east: Kovan. East: Marine Parade.
Also on Jungle:
English is where "free" most often means an assessment. Only one of seven schools gives a free trial class; three offer a free test instead, and two charge for trials without printing the price. See also English and phonics for 3 to 6 year olds.
City Hall · City Hall MRT (EW13/NS25), 250 m
Ages 4 to 6, 7 to 10 and 11+90 minutesFree trial
The only free English trial class here, with a free proficiency test alongside it. Lessons for children are 90 minutes, in small groups split by age, and the packages are published, so you can price a term before the trial. At $102 a lesson, it is the dearest regular class on this page.
Trial: Free trial lesson and proficiency test.
Price: $2,040 for 20 lessons ($102 a lesson) or $4,080 for 40, including 9% GST; registration waived and $200 off for new students.
Address: 1 Coleman Street, #10-11 The Adelphi, Singapore 179803. Google Maps
Book on Jungle: United Language Centre
Orchard · Orchard MRT (NS22/TE14), 300 m
K2 English90 minutesTrial from $80
One page, two answers on the trial: "Trial classes from $80" in one place, "Please enquire" in the price table. The regular K2 lesson is from $83 for 90 minutes before GST, so the trial costs about a lesson. Trials are arranged on request.
Trial: From $80; arranged on request.
Price: From $83 a 90-minute K2 lesson, before GST.
Address: 545 Orchard Road, #14-07/08 Far East Shopping Centre, Singapore 238882. Google Maps
Book on Jungle: Creative Campus
Tiong Bahru · Tiong Bahru MRT (EW17), 80 m
Ages 2.5 to 12Free assessmentNo trial class
I Can Read offers a free literacy or Primary English assessment for ages 2.5 to 12, not a trial class. It is a placement test with the school, not a lesson with other children. At its October open house, signing up for Term 1 promises savings of "up to $270".
Trial: No trial class. Free assessment.
Price: I Can Read does not publish its fees online. Contact them for current prices.
Address: 298 Tiong Bahru Road, #06-03 Central Plaza, Singapore 168730. Google Maps
Book on Jungle: I Can Read
Also on Jungle:

Heguru Method and Shichida say they do not offer trial lessons. Kumon and MindChamps offer an assessment instead. Photo: kimmi jun / Pexels
The brands parents search for by name mostly do not offer a trial class at all. Heguru Method says there are no trial lessons: most of its classes are full, and one lesson is not enough to judge. Shichida also says it does not offer trial lessons, and invites parents to a complimentary Preview Session with its Principal instead.
Heguru Education runs a 30 to 45-minute information session for parents, with no need for the child to attend. Kumon offers a free diagnostic assessment with a parent orientation, and MindChamps a complimentary learning evaluation for its Primary Success programme. Julia Gabriel Centre and Chengzhu Mandarin Centre charge $18 for a trial class, waived if you enrol. We take each brand in turn in do Heguru, Shichida and Kumon offer trial classes.
This guide starts at 3. Below that, the minimum age is usually given in months and a parent usually stays for the class. The full list, sorted by the youngest age each provider takes, is in free and paid trial classes for babies and toddlers, and our guides to baby and toddler swimming and baby and toddler music compare schools one by one.
The age a parent can step out differs by school. Little Splashes lets children swim without a parent from 3, while aquaDucks keeps a parent in the water for children aged 5 and under. Happy Fish charges the same $50 for its 30-minute toddler trial, for ages 2 to 5, as for older children.
Five questions, answered in writing before you pay, cover most of the above.
We started from the schools Jungle lists in ten activities that take children aged 3 to 12, using the research behind our age guides and fees posts from 6 to 20 October as leads. We then re-read every trial price in this post on the school's own website, booking system or fee sheet on 20 October 2026, and the class fees on the cards on 20 and 21 October. The big brands and CMA were read on 22 October.
Where a school's pages disagree, we quote both. Nothing is taken from a directory, and no school paid to be here. This guide replaces our September edition, and every school from that edition that is still named here was checked again in October.
For what a whole year of classes costs, read what kids' classes cost in Singapore, and for discounts running now, 20 kids' class promotions in Singapore. If you are choosing in one neighbourhood, see our ranked guides to art classes in Hougang and Kovan, art classes in Katong and piano lessons in Hougang. Browse sports classes, dance classes, art classes, coding classes and language classes on Jungle.





Weekend picks, holiday camps with remaining spots, and the odd story from parents we talk to.