
Last verified: 25 September 2026 · By Jungle Editorial · 11 min read
Kolam Ayer Community Club runs Piano Grade 1 at $140 for eight 30-minute lessons, taught one to one. That is $17.50 a lesson. Ten minutes away by train, a 45-minute one-to-one lesson with a Master-tier teacher at Mandeville Conservatory is $473 a month, which is about $118 a lesson.
Both are weekly. Both are one child and one teacher. Both lead to the same graded exam. The gap is roughly seven to one, and almost no parent comparing quotes ever sees the cheap end, because community club courses do not advertise and do not appear in the price guides.
This is what piano actually costs in Singapore in 2026, priced two ways: what a school charges a month or a term, and what a full year to Grade 1 comes to once registration, deposits and GST are counted.
Weekly one-to-one lessons, held to the same yardstick: a child working towards ABRSM Grade 1, taught for a full year. Registration and deposit are included where the school charges them.
| Route | A year of lessons | How it is built |
|---|---|---|
| Kolam Ayer CC | about $700 | $140 for 8 lessons of 30 minutes, one to one, roughly five terms a year. $17.50 a lesson |
| Hwi Yoh CC | about $760 | $190 for 10 lessons of 30 minutes, one to one |
| West Coast CC | about $1,080 | $216.70 for 8 lessons of 45 minutes, one to one |
| Yamaha, group | $2,076 plus $210 | $519 a term for 11 lessons in a class of 5 to 10, four terms. Plus $60 registration and a $150 deposit |
| Private home teacher | $2,040 to $2,400 | $170 to $200 a month for four 45-minute lessons, taught at your home. No registration fee |
| Intune Music | $2,400 | $200 a month for four 45-minute lessons including theory, individual |
| Cristofori, non-peak | $2,746 with GST | $620 a term at Beginner level plus 9% GST, four terms, 45 minutes |
| Yamaha, individual | $2,784, or $2,640 on a weekday | $232 a month inclusive of GST, plus $60 registration and a $150 deposit |
| Cristofori Premium package | $3,815 | 44 individual lessons over 12 months with exam fee and books included. Works out dearer per lesson than paying term by term |
| Aureus Academy | $4,788 | $399 a month for four 45-minute lessons, books included |
| Mandeville Conservatory | $3,900 to $5,676 | $325 to $473 a month for 45 minutes depending on teacher tier, plus $80 registration and a full month’s fees as deposit |
The spread is about eight to one, and the two ends are not doing anything different. The community club lesson is shorter, 30 minutes against 45, but even corrected for that it is roughly a quarter of the price of the cheapest chain school.
Seven of the seventeen schools we checked print a usable fee. Here they are, with what the fee actually buys.
| School | Fee | What it buys | Extras on top |
|---|---|---|---|
| Cristofori Music School | $620 a term at Beginner rising to $710 at Grade 5, 45 minutes non-peak. 60 minutes $820 to $940. Peak adds about $30 | Individual from Beginner up. Cristofori does not publish how many lessons a term holds | 9% GST added. $620 becomes $675.80. Registration not published |
| Aureus Academy | $279 for 30 minutes, $399 for 45, $519 for 60, a month | 4 lessons a month. One rate island-wide across 25 centres, and it does not rise with grade | All books and materials included. No registration fee published. GST not stated |
| Yamaha Music School | $232 a month at Grade 1 rising to $360 at Grade 8. Diplomas $370 to $440. $12 a month off weekday classes | Individual, 45 minutes to Grade 4 and an hour from Grade 5. Each level runs about six months | $60 registration, non-refundable, plus a $150 deposit if you do not pay by GIRO. Books charged separately. GST included |
| Intune Music, Bras Basah | $190 at Beginner, $200 at Grade 1, rising to $420 at Grade 8 and $480 at Diploma | 4 weekly lessons. 45 minutes including theory to Grade 4, an hour excluding theory from Grade 5 | The full grade ladder is published, which is rare. Registration, deposit and GST not stated |
| Mandeville Conservatory | Priced by teacher tier. 30 minutes $225 to $321 a month; 45 minutes $325 to $473; an hour $411 to $588; post-Grade 8 $528 to $706 | Individual, monthly. Group piano is $196 a month, or $588 a term | $80 registration and one month’s fees as deposit. At the top tier that deposit is $706 before a lesson is taught |
| Studio 72, Boat Quay | $280 for four 30-minute lessons a month, $330 for 45, $380 for an hour. 12-lesson packs $690 to $990 | Individual, or in a group: $270 each in a pair, $210 each in a three, for four hour-long lessons | $45 one-time registration and a $70 deposit |
| Joy Music Studio | Music Explorer $430 a term, or $860 for the full programme | 9 lessons of 45 minutes in a group of up to five. It drops to 30 minutes if only one child enrols, which is worth knowing | Registration and deposit are both charged but the amounts are no longer published. No materials cost. 30 days’ notice to leave, which is four paid lessons |
The other ten publish nothing usable: Joy Waltz Academy, Ossia Music School, Seimpi School of Music, Juzmusic Academy, Crestar Learning Centre, The Music Scientist, Our Music Studio, Kindermusik With Love, The Music Circle and Groove Music. Several publish a trial price and a registration fee but not the thing you need, which is the monthly rate. The Music Scientist is the odd one: it publishes a guide to what other schools charge, and not its own fee.

Photo: Yan Krukau, Pexels
Thirty-two community clubs and residents’ networks run one-to-one piano lessons. Not group classes: one child, one teacher, a graded syllabus, at community club prices. This is the part of the market no price guide includes.
| Venue | Course | Fee | Sessions | Length | Per lesson |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Kolam Ayer CC | Piano Grade 1 | $140 to $150 | 8 | 30 min | $17.50 |
| Hwi Yoh CC | Piano Grade 1 | $190 to $195 | 10 | 30 min | $19.00 |
| West Coast CC | Piano Preparatory | $152 | 8 | 30 min | $19.06 |
| Pek Kio CC, Pasir Ris Central CC | Piano Grade 1 | $250 to $265 | 10 | 30 min | $25.00 |
| Seletar-Serangoon Zone 6 RN | Individual Piano for Leisure | $265 to $310 | 10 | 30 min | $26.50 |
| West Coast CC | Piano Grade 1 | $216.70 | 8 | 45 min | $27.09 |
| Telok Blangah Blangah Gardens | Piano Grade 1 | $280 | 10 | not stated | $28.00 |
| Nee Soon Central CC | Piano Grade 1 to 8 | $225 to $235 | 8 | 180 min block | $28.13 |
| Ci Yuan, Canberra, Buona Vista, Kallang, Yew Tee CC | Lowrey Piano, Beginner | $295 to $329.20 | 10 | 30 min | $29.50 |
| West Coast CC | Piano Grade 3 | $248.80 | 8 | 45 min | $31.10 |
| Telok Blangah Parcview RN | Piano Grade 1 | $156 | 4 | 45 min | $39.00 |
| Buona Vista CC | Lowrey Piano Grade 2 | $500.40 to $512.40 | 10 | 30 to 45 min | $50.04 |
| Sengkang West Zone K RN | Lowrey Piano Grade 6 | $788 | 10 | 45 to 60 min | $78.80 |
| Buangkok, Buona Vista, Canberra CC | Lowrey Piano Grade 6 to 8A | $682 to $907 | 10 | 45 to 60 min | $68 to $91 |
Two things fall out of that table. The first is that community club piano is not one price, it is a whole market, running from $17.50 a lesson to $90.70. The second is that the dearest rows are all the same brand, Lowrey, teaching its own graded ladder at a community club. A parent who assumes a community club is automatically cheap can walk into a $788 course.
The clubs currently running one-to-one piano are Buona Vista, Canberra, Ci Yuan, Hwi Yoh, Joo Chiat, Kallang, Kebun Baru, Kolam Ayer, Pasir Ris Central, Pek Kio, West Coast and Yew Tee, plus residents’ networks at Buona Vista Zone D, Fernvale Zone F, Kampong Chai Chee Garden Hill, Keat Hong Zone 1, Marsiling Zone 4, Pasir Ris Zone 10, Punggol Cresails, Seletar-Serangoon Zone 6, Sengkang West Zones A, C, K and L, Tampines North Zone 7, Tampines Polyview, Telok Blangah Blangah Garden and Parcview, Toa Payoh East Zones 4 and 8, Waterway and Woodlands Zone 1.
The usual advice is that a group class halves the cost. Within a chain school it does not come close.
| Comparison | One to one | In a group | Saving |
|---|---|---|---|
| Yamaha, Grade 1 level | $232 a month, about $58 a lesson | $519 a term for 11 lessons, 5 to 10 children, about $47.18 a lesson | 19% |
| Mandeville, 45 minutes | $325 to $473 a month | $196 a month for group piano | 40% to 59% |
| Studio 72, four hour-long lessons | $380 a month | $270 each in a pair, $210 each in a three | 29% to 45% |
| Community club | Kolam Ayer Grade 1, $17.50 a lesson | Fun with Keyboard, $19.64 to $27.62 a session in a class of 6 to 15 | none: the group class is dearer |
That last row is the most counter-intuitive fact in this research and it is worth acting on. At a community club, the one-to-one piano lesson can cost less than the group keyboard class in the same building.
Teachers advertising through the learnpianoinsingapore.com collective publish a monthly rate card for four lessons a month taught at the child’s home, with travel already priced in and no registration fee. Treat it as what the private market looks like rather than one teacher’s fixed price.
| Level | Lesson length | A month of four lessons |
|---|---|---|
| Beginner | 45 min | $160 to $180 |
| Grade 1 to 2 | 45 min | $170 to $200 |
| Grade 3 to 4 | 45 min | $180 to $220 |
| Grade 5 to 6 | 1 hour | $220 to $280 |
| Grade 7 to 8 | 1 hour | $280 to $340 |
| Diploma | 1 hour | $300 to $400 |
At $170 a month a private teacher at your kitchen table undercuts every chain school on this page, and beats Aureus by more than half. Very young children are often offered 30 minutes instead, at a lower rate.
If the instrument is not piano, the community club saving gets larger, because the classes are taught in groups and the instruments are cheap.
| Instrument | Cheapest found | Dearest found | Format |
|---|---|---|---|
| Ukulele | $50 for 6 hour-long sessions at Chua Chu Kang CC, $8.33 a session | $118 for 8 sessions at Ancilla RN | Group, cap 6 to 10 |
| Guitar | $88 for 10 hour-long sessions at Clementi CC, $8.80 a session | $170 for 8 sessions at Geylang West CC | Group, cap 12 to 15 |
| Vocal training | $70 for 10 sessions at Ang Mo Kio CC | $155 for 10 sessions at Bukit Timah CC | Group |
| Keyboard | $216 for 11 hour-long sessions at Redhill Rise RN | $230 at Anchorvale CC | Group, 12 venues |
| Violin | $150 for 4 lessons of 30 minutes at Seletar-Serangoon Zone 4 RN | the only listing | One to one |
| Drum | $180 for 4 sessions | $280 | One to one |
Nine things that are true across the schools we read, in the order they will cost you money.
1. “From $620 a term” is not a lesson price. Cristofori does not publish how many lessons a term holds anywhere on its fee page. Its 12-month package implies eleven, which would make $620 about $56 a lesson before GST, but the school does not say so. You cannot compare it with Aureus’s “four lessons a month” without asking.
2. GST is handled three different ways. Cristofori adds it and prints both columns. Yamaha includes it and says so. Aureus, Intune, Mandeville and Studio 72 do not mention it at all, which means you should ask.
3. About half of Cristofori’s 37 centres are licensees. The footnote on its own price list reads that different lesson fees and practices may apply at starred branches, and the starred list includes Funan, Kallang, Shenton Way, Marsiling, Woodlands, Bukit Gombak, Choa Chu Kang, Fajar, Jurong East and Jurong West. The published table is not a promise at those addresses.
4. Yamaha’s fee rises with every grade and Aureus’s does not. Yamaha goes from $232 a month at Grade 1 to $360 at Grade 8. Aureus charges one rate by lesson length regardless of grade and says so on its pricing page. Over eight grades that difference is larger than any headline rate.
5. The extras are where the money hides. Yamaha $60 registration plus a $150 deposit. Mandeville $80 plus a full month. The Music Circle $65 plus a month. Ossia $39 plus a month. Studio 72 $45 plus $70. At Mandeville’s top tier that deposit is $706.
6. A month’s deposit is forfeited without notice. Ossia forfeits it without 30 days’ notice and runs a strict no-refund policy. The Music Circle and Joy Music Studio work the same way. Read the notice period before you pay the deposit, not after.
7. Teacher-tier pricing is rare and brutal. Mandeville is the only school we found that prices by teacher seniority, and the Master tier is 43% dearer than Associate for the same 45 minutes.
8. The exam board is not always ABRSM. Cristofori teaches to RSL, the Rockschool London syllabus, plus its own theory exam. Yamaha runs its own grade examination alongside ABRSM. If you are picturing an ABRSM certificate, ask which board the school enters.
9. At a community club, books are extra and nobody quotes them. The listings say only that students buy books according to the teacher’s assignment. Budget for it.
We could not read ABRSM’s own Singapore fee page. It sits behind a challenge that refuses automated requests, and we do not disguise our requests to get around that. The figures that circulate, roughly $110 at Grade 1 rising to around $640 at Grade 8, all come from third-party guides rather than from ABRSM, so we are not repeating them.
What we can say is that only one school prices the exam at all. Cristofori bundles the RSL practical exam fee, registration and the exam books into its 12-month package. Yamaha publishes its exam calendar but not the fee. Community clubs do not enter children for exams: Potong Pasir’s listing says the syllabus follows ABRSM and similar boards and that the family arranges the exam separately. Ask any school for the exam fee in writing before you commit to a grade, because it is the one recurring cost nobody advertises.
If the budget is the constraint, the order is clear: a community club one-to-one lesson at $17 to $30, then a private teacher at your home at $170 to $200 a month, then Intune or Yamaha on a weekday, then everyone else. A chain school buys you a fixed timetable, a replacement teacher when yours is ill, a building with a real piano in it and an exam entry handled for you. Those are worth paying for. They are not worth four times the price without asking.
Three questions settle most comparisons. How many lessons are in a term? How long is each one? What is payable on top of the fee you just quoted me? A school that answers all three in writing is usually the one worth joining.
This is one of a set. The overview is what kids’ classes cost in Singapore, which prices swimming, dance, martial arts, gymnastics and coding the same way. There is a companion guide to what children’s art classes cost. And if you are still choosing, thirty providers run a genuinely free trial class.





Weekend picks, holiday camps with remaining spots, and the odd story from parents we talk to.