
Last verified: 25 September 2026 · By Jungle Editorial · 10 min read
Woodgrove Community Club runs a children’s art class for ages 5 to 12 at $45 for ten 90-minute Saturday sessions. Ten sessions. Forty-five dollars. The child brings their own drawing block, pencils and a set of oil pastels.
A term of ten classes at a chain art school costs between $450 and $578 for the same weekly ninety minutes. Both are taught by an art teacher in a room with other children. One of them is thirteen times the price of the other, and only one of them advertises.
This is what art classes actually cost in Singapore in 2026: the studios that print a fee, the studios that will not, the community club catalogue almost no parent reads, and the charges that land after you have signed up.
| Where | Price | What it buys | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Cheapest | Woodgrove CC | $4.50 a session | $45 for 10 sessions of 90 minutes, ages 5 to 12, cap 15. $50 without a PAssion Card |
| Next cheapest | Yew Tee CC | $6.00 a session | $60 for 10 sessions of 90 minutes, ages 5 and up |
| Community club median | 104 venues | $12.50 a session | Typically $90 to $100 for 8 sessions of 90 minutes |
| Typical commercial | chain studios | $45 to $50 a class | Weekly, 75 to 90 minutes, billed monthly or by term |
| Dearest with a published term | ARTARY Punggol | $57.80 a class | About $694 for a term of 12 classes of 90 minutes |
| Dearest found | ves.studio, Chip Bee Gardens | $92 a class | $368 for four classes, or $115 for a single one |
The community club median of $12.50 is about a quarter of the commercial median. Against ARTARY’s standard class it is a quarter; against Woodgrove it is a thirteenth.
Eleven of the 26 studios we checked print a recurring fee you can plan around. These are they, with the extras, because the extras are where art differs from every other category.
| Studio | Fee | What it buys | On top |
|---|---|---|---|
| My Art Pencil | $128 to $156 for four lessons, by age. $136 at ages 3 to 5, $128 at 6, $132 at 7, $140 at 8, $148 at 9 to 12, $156 at 13 to 15 | Weekly, billed monthly. An hour at ages 3 to 6, 1h15 at 7, 1h30 from 8. Ratio 1 to 2 for the youngest, 1 to 4 from age 6. Drop-off | Nothing. No registration fee published and all materials are included. GST not stated |
| ARTARY | $50.30 a class for Fine Art Play and Fine Art 1, $52.50 for Fine Art 2 to 4. A 12-class term drops it to $46.78 and $48.83. Punggol campuses $55.60 and $57.80 | A term is 12 classes, so roughly $603 to $694. 75 minutes for ages 3 to 5.4, 90 minutes from 5.5 to 14. Ratio 1 to 5 | A one-time Student Kit, amount not published. Registration listed only as “please enquire”. The fee page warns the figures are approximate until payment |
| 3Arts Pottery | $665 for the full 10-lesson course | 10 lessons of three hours, maximum 8 students. Hand-building or wheel-throwing. The last lesson is glazing, about a month later | Firing and glazing included for up to 9 finished pieces, then $10 each. A $50 assessment fee for experienced wheel-throwing students, deducted on enrolment |
| Avant-Garde Art Space | 4 classes $220 over two months, 8 classes $400 over four, 12 classes $540 over six | Sketching, acrylic or watercolour, 90 minutes. Workshops from $45 for a two-hour guided art jam up to $222 for a custom camera | Not itemised. Class size not published |
| Sage Artelier | Little Creators $210 for 6, Fundamental $240 for 6 or $480 for 14, Evolution $300 for 6, Portfolio Building $360 for 6 | $35 a session at entry level and $60 for portfolio work. A single Art Play session is $45 | $50 one-time registration |
| Art Grain, Thomson | $410 for a 10-lesson module | $41 a lesson | $25 registration, a $50 annual materials fee, a $13 journal and a $123 deposit |
| ArtzGraine, Queen’s Road | $45 a session at Millet, $46 at Flint Corn, $50 at Rye, $55 at Rye Portfolio | 90 minutes. Millet is ages 3 to 4, Flint Corn 5 to 7, Rye 8 and up. Fees are collected by term but the number of sessions in a term is not published, so no term total can be quoted | $20 per transaction, non-refundable, plus $10 a sketchbook |
| stART Studio, Bukit Timah Plaza | $480 for 10 units, valid six months and shareable between siblings | $48 a unit. Drop-in $30 for an hour or $60 for two. A discovery session is $45 | Not published |
| Tanglin Arts Studio | Early Years $250 for a 10-class card, or $30 a class. Older children from $50 an hour, billed by term | $25 a class on the Early Years card, the cheapest commercial weekly rate we found | Not published |
| ves.studio, Chip Bee Gardens | $368 for four classes, or $115 for a single class | $92 a class, the dearest regular class found anywhere | Not published |
| Visual Arts Centre | Holiday Art Immersion, 12 sessions: $698 for drawing and sketching, $768 for acrylic or watercolour, $798 across three media, $858 for manga. One-day art camp $195 | $58.17 to $71.50 a session. The teen stream is stated as ages 10 to 18 | Quoted nett, so GST is included. Term fees for weekly classes are not published |

Photo: Nguyễn Tiến Thịnh, Pexels
There are 120 recurring children’s art courses live across 104 venues right now, at community clubs, residents’ networks and residents’ committees. 106 of them are called simply Children’s Art. The standard shape is eight sessions of 90 minutes for $90 to $100. Here is the cheap end.
| Venue | Course | Fee | Sessions | Length | Per session | Ages |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Woodgrove CC | Children’s Art | $45 / $50 | 10 | 90 min | $4.50 | 5 to 12 |
| Yew Tee CC | Children’s Art | $60 / $70 | 10 | 90 min | $6.00 | 5+ |
| Boon Lay Zone G RN | Children’s Art | $25 | 4 | 90 min | $6.25 | not stated |
| Pioneer Zone 11 RN | Children’s Art | $25 | 4 | 90 min | $6.25 | not stated |
| Keat Hong CC | Children’s Art | $70 / $75 | 10 | 90 min | $7.00 | not stated |
| Senja-Cashew CC | Children’s Art | $70 / $75 | 10 | 90 min | $7.00 | 4 to 12 |
| Yuhua CC | Chinese Calligraphy | $80 / $90 | 10 | 120 min | $8.00 | not stated |
| Geylang West CC | Children’s Art | $85 / $95 | 10 | 90 min | $8.50 | not stated |
| Nee Soon Central CC | Children’s Art | $85 / $95 | 10 | 90 min | $8.50 | 5+ |
| Sengkang CC | Cartoon Drawing | $70 / $80 | 8 | 90 min | $8.75 | 4 to 10 |
| Hong Kah North CC | Children’s Art | $71 / $81 | 8 | 90 min | $8.88 | not stated |
| Bishan CC | Children’s Art | $90 / $102 | 10 | 90 min | $9.00 | not stated |
| Kebun Baru CC | Children’s Art | $90 / $95 | 10 | 90 min | $9.00 | not stated |
| Hougang CC | Mixed Media Art | $95 / $105 | 10 | 90 min | $9.50 | 4 to 12 |
| Buangkok CC | Cartoon Drawing | $80 / $85 | 8 | 90 min | $10.00 | 5+ |
| Kampong Chai Chee CC | Children’s Art | $80 / $90 | 8 | 90 min | $10.00 | not stated |
| Tampines Central CC | Cartoon Drawing | $80 / $90 | 8 | 90 min | $10.00 | 5 to 12 |
| Ayer Rajah CC | Children’s Art | $85 / $95 | 8 | 75 min | $10.62 | not stated |
| Anchorvale CC | Children’s Art | $88 / $98 | 8 | 75 min | $11.00 | 5 to 10 |
| One Punggol CC | Children’s Art | $90 / $100 | 8 | 90 min | $11.25 | 5 to 10 |
The first figure is the PAssion Card rate and the second is what you pay without one. The range across the whole catalogue is $4.50 to $25.75 a session, with a median of $12.50. The dearest is ceramic art at Kampong Glam CC, at $206 for eight three-hour sessions, and even that is cheaper per hour than most commercial studios.
Chinese ink painting for children starts at $80 for eight sessions at The Serangoon CC. A further 33 single-session workshops are live, mostly clay and craft: miniature clay figurines run at many clubs at $25 for members and $35 without, for one 90-minute session plus a $10 materials fee paid to the trainer.
Fifteen of the 26 studios we checked do not publish the number that matters. Seven show only a trial, a drop-in or a holiday camp price: Little Artists Art Studio, Artsy Bugsy Studio, White Canvas Studio, Abrakadoodle, Studio Miu, KiLiO ART and Tree Art. Eight publish nothing at all: Global Art, Heart Studio, De Mini Art Studio, ColorMoon, Let Colour Soar, Artistori, Artlette and HiArt.
Global Art is the starkest case: 29 centres island-wide and not one of them publishes a fee. Every route through the site ends at an enquiry form, an enrolment form or a trial booking.
Where a studio publishes only a trial, the trial is not a guide to the term fee. Abrakadoodle charges $75 for a one-hour class and $95 for 90 minutes as a trial or ad-hoc booking, which is roughly double the commercial weekly rate. Tree Art publishes no term fee anywhere and charges $80 registration before GST, the largest registration fee in the category.
Clay is priced differently from drawing, and the advertised figure is often not the figure you pay.
| Studio | Price | What is included |
|---|---|---|
| 3Arts Pottery | $665 for a 10-lesson course | Firing and in-house glazing included for up to 9 finished pieces, then $10 each. The best-value structure in the category |
| Studio Asobi | $95 a person for a three-hour Living Clay workshop | Materials, glazing and firing of one hand-built vessel. The accompanying adult pays the same $95, so a parent and child is $190 |
| Thow Kwang Pottery Jungle | $65 a child aged 8 to 14 | $80 for a parent and a child under 8 sharing, $88 for the potter’s wheel trial |
| PotteryPlease! | $28 studio fee a person | Plus the ceramic piece from $8, so the advertised figure is never the figure paid |
| Kampong Glam CC | $206 for 8 sessions of three hours | The dearest community club art course found, and still $25.75 a session |
Portfolio work for Direct School Admission is the dearest thing in children’s art, and almost nobody prices it. Only two studios print a figure. Sage Artelier charges $360 for six portfolio-building lessons, which is $60 a session against $35 at its entry level. ArtzGraine charges $55 a session for Rye Portfolio against $50 for its ordinary senior class.
Artistori runs the most extensive offering we found, covering DSA for secondary and junior college, the Art Elective Programme, and portfolio preparation for SOTA, LASALLE and NAFA, and publishes no price for any of it. Visual Arts Centre and Let Colour Soar list DSA preparation without a fee. Abrakadoodle states plainly in its own FAQ that it runs no portfolio or DSA course, which is more use than a page with no number on it.
1. Materials are often not included, and the exclusion is easy to miss. Thirty of the community club courses tell parents to bring their own supplies and thirteen more add a separate materials fee. The $4.50 Woodgrove class needs a 48-colour oil pastel set the family buys itself.
2. Material fees are usually paid in cash to the trainer, not at checkout. The price you pay online is not the price you pay. The Serangoon CC’s children’s Chinese ink course is $80 for eight sessions with a $55 material fee handed to the trainer, which is 69% on top.
3. Registration fees are large at the commercial end and rarely quoted up front. Tree Art $80 before GST, HiArt $75 before GST, Studio Miu $50, Sage Artelier $50, Art Grain $25 plus a $123 deposit, ArtzGraine $20 per transaction. ARTARY publishes its registration only as “please enquire”.
4. Tree Art adds GST to everything, including the registration fee. It is the only studio that states its GST treatment in writing, which means it may not be the only one that does it. Ask.
5. The non-member premium is small and the card is cheap. 92 of the 146 children’s courses charge non-members more, typically $10 a term. A PAssion Card is $12 for three years and children under 18 are tagged to a parent’s card at no charge, so it pays for itself on the first course.
6. Class sizes are mostly unpublished at the commercial end. Only My Art Pencil, ARTARY, 3Arts, Abrakadoodle and Artlette give a figure at all. Every community club course publishes a hard cap, and those run from 10 to 30 children, which is the honest trade-off against a studio ratio of one to four.
7. Packages expire. stART Studio’s 10-unit card is valid six months. Avant-Garde’s 12-class package runs six months. Artlette forfeits unused sessions after the expiry date. Count the weeks your child is actually free before buying the larger pack.
8. One page we will not cite. KiLiO’s pricing-tables page is an unfinished template carrying placeholder text and monthly figures of $300, $350 and $400. Those are not real prices and they turn up in search results. The only genuine figure on its own site is a $58 trial session.
Convert everything to a price per hour of teaching. A $50.30 class of 90 minutes is $33.53 an hour; a $12.50 community club session of the same length is $8.33. Then ask three questions: how many children are in the room, what is payable on top of the fee, and does the fee include materials. Most studios answer the first two readily and go quiet on the third.
The honest case for a commercial studio is a small group, a consistent teacher, a portfolio that goes somewhere and a studio that does not disappear at the end of a term. The honest case for a community club is that it costs a quarter as much and prints every number before you pay. For a five-year-old who mostly wants to make a mess with poster paint, the community club is very hard to argue against.
This sits alongside what kids’ classes cost in Singapore, which prices swimming, dance, martial arts, gymnastics and coding the same way, and what piano lessons cost. If you want to try before you pay, thirty providers run a genuinely free trial class.





Weekend picks, holiday camps with remaining spots, and the odd story from parents we talk to.